Tuesday, December 29, 2009

the soul of the sea

In February, English chanteuse, Corinne Bailey Ray will release "The Sea", her sophomore album and the follow up to her self-titled, 2006 breakthrough.

The first single will be "I'd Do It All Again", a lovely, honey soaked, tear stained song that could easily be an ode to her husband, Jason, who passed away about 18 months ago.

The video beautifully captures the precious balance of mournful and joyous feelings in the tried and true "Groundhog Day" theme. A sense of comfort and security in a routine. The song itself, not a million miles away from her debut, carries on with the soulful and languid Billie Holiday and Marvin Gaye influences. Many of the artists that inspire Corinne can be found here.

Then there's this recent, stripped down performance for "Later...With Jools Holland".

Goosebumps! Such a gorgeous combination of heartbreak and exalted joy.

The final tracklisting for "The Sea" is as follows:

1. Are You Here
2. I'd Do It All Again
3. Feels Like The First Time
4. The Blackest Lily
5. Closer
6. Love's On Its Way
7. I Would Like to Call It Beauty
8. Paris Nights/New York Mornings
9. Paper Dolls
10. Diving For Hearts
11. The Sea

No comments:

Post a Comment

© 2009 Direct Holdings Americas Inc. Time Life and the Time Life logo are registered trademarks of Time Warner Inc. or an affiliated company. Used under license by Direct Holdings Americas Inc., which is not affiliated with Time Inc. or Time Warner Inc.